Boris Worrall, Group Chief Executive of Rooftop Housing Group, has been elected the new Chair of the National Housing Federation West Midlands regional committee.

The Regional Committee is the place where senior figures from the housing association sector in the West Midlands come together to help shape the work that the National Housing Federation does nationally, as well as making sure that the wider membership can engage and address key local issues.

Boris has been Deputy Chair for the last three years and takes over from Mike Brown, Chief Executive of Bromsgrove District Housing Trust. Senior representatives from eight other housing associations across the region were elected/co-opted onto the committee. Gary Fulford, Walsall Housing Group Chief Executive, has taken up the role of Deputy Chair.

Boris said “I’m proud to be the new Chair of the NHF West Midlands regional committee at such a pivotal time for housing associations in the region.

“Our aim is to engage members and strengthen our story on the priorities we identified as housing supply, people and innovation – as well as supporting the West Midlands Housing Association Partnership devolution agenda.”

Rob Warm from the NHF said “Making sure that we really understand the challenges that local housing associations are facing is absolutely key to us if we are to help them deliver the homes the region needs. We know that the West Midlands faces a range of issues – affordability, rural housing, regeneration, and skills. The Regional Committee has a key role to play in helping us, and local stakeholders, understand and respond to these and we look forward to working with Boris to do this.”

The members of the regional committee at April 2017 are:

Stuart Fisher, Accord Group

Wayne Hughes, Aspire Housing

Amanda Tomlinson, Black Country Housing Group

Sue Harrison, Bromford Housing Group

Jonathan Driffill, Friendship Care and Housing

Joe Reeves, Midland Heart

Charley Gibbons, Orbit Group

Tony Clark, Pioneer Group

Boris Worrall, Rooftop Housing Group

Diane Lea, Staffordshire Housing Association

Ursula Bennion, Trent & Dove Housing

Gary Fulford, Walsall Housing Group

Kevin Rodgers, WM Housing Group

Wayne Gethings, Wrekin Housing Trust

To find out more about the work of the National Housing Federation click here.